Seeking advice on upgrading stock system

Xanazan

ND
I am new to the whole car audio world, so I have a few questions.

First off, I have a 2002 Grand Am SE with the stock stereo and speakers (not Monsoon version). There are 2 rear speakers (6x9), 2 front speakers (4x6) and 2 one inch tweeters up front that are connected to the 4x6's. When I listen to music in my car, I rarely have the volume higher than 1/3 of the way up.

When I do end up replacing the stock system, I would most likely not get a sub at first. If I did get a sub, it would be some powered sub unit.

Now if I were to get a head unit that put out 20watts RMS on 4 channels, along with upgraded front and rear speakers, would I benefit from an amp? I am not looking for loudness, just a general improvement in quality. If I would get an amp, would it have to be a 4-channel, and then run one channel to each speaker, or what?

Also, are component speakers better? Opinions, thoughts, whatever

TLDR; Would an amp be necessary to have an improvement in sound with upgraded speakers that could handle say 70 watts RMS paired with a head unit that put out 20 RMS? -going for increased quality, not loudness

i used to have a 2000 grand am se and had a ton of different systems in it.

generally a good set of component speakers are better as you have the ability to adjust the crossovers etc, and also can move the tweeter to wherever you want.

i would get rid of that head unit(stock), mine took a crap after a few years, stopped reading cds. personally if your not going for loudness, i would for with just a NICE head unit, and some really nice speakers. i never liked 4x6's, i felt they never reproduced the bass very well. i would go with some 6 1/2's and either cut the whole in the door out bigger, or use some type of adapter plate.